Skip to content

Europan 16
Living cities

This session invited the participants to take a systemic approach to all streams of life and energy that help shape our society with particular focus on providing vulnerable groups and imperilled ecosystems the consideration they need to build equitable communities.

Key dates

Registrations open
Submission deadline
Winners announced

This year's theme

Each session of Europan has a theme connecting all the sites. In E16 it was Living cities: Metabolic Vitalities and Inclusive Vitalities

Read more about the theme here

Four sites from Norway

ranging from experimental housing and regnerative urban plans to the design of a new library. Explore the sites and competition entries below.

The jury

The jury of Europan Norway consists of both international and Norwegian experts within the field of urban planning and architecture.

  • Øystein Rø portrait.

    Øystein Rø (NO)

    M.Arch. MNAL and Partner Transborders studio, former secretary of Europan Norway

  • Aga Skorupka portrait.

    Aga Skorupka (PL)

    Head of social science at Rodeo Architects

  • Berit Skarholt portrait.

    Berit Skarholt (NO)

    Deputy Director, Department for Planning, Norwegian Ministry of Local Government and Modernisation (KMD)

  • Nina Lundvall portrait.

    Nina Lundvall (SE)

    Associate Director Caruso St John Architects LLP

  • Sabine Müller portrait.

    Sabine Müller (DE)

    Principal of SMAQ / Professor at Oslo School of Architecture

  • Wenche Dramstad portrait.

    Wenche Dramstad (NO)

    Head of Research in the Landscape Monitoring Department at NIBIO

  • Merete Gunnes portrait.

    Merete Gunnes (NO)

    Jury substitute - M.Sc Landscape architect MNLA

  • Joakim Skajaa portrait.

    Joakim Skajaa (NO)

    Architect, founder of SKAJAA Arkitektkontor, curator at the National Museum, Oslo.

  • Linn Runeson portrait.

    Linn Runeson (SE)

    Architect, Urbanist and co-founder/Managing Director at edit AS.